[project shalom] stress: week 4, day 2

So, yesterday ended the week of kindness – a week of looking out for old uncles selling tissue paper, treating people to meals and giving up seats on the bus. I almost got taken advantage of, though, by an old Malay uncle who asked me to help support him as he walked down the staircase but was really only interested in holding onto my arm. I quickly got out of the sketchy situation. So, yes, kindness but also wisdom.

This week is a week to deny stress. There are many things that crowd our mind all the time. I haven’t even received my approved TEP application, which means I can’t go on with my visa application. It’s tempting to worry about that, as well as other relational issues (can someone say life partner? :P), but this week, I choose to go against the grain of culture that tells me I have to stress.

Instead, I choose to meditate on the words of Jesus:

Do not be anxious then, saying, “what shall we eat?’ or ‘what shall we drink?’ or ‘with what shall we clothe ourselves?’ For all these things the Gentiles eagerly seek; for your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things. But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness; and all these things shall be added to you. Therefore, do not be anxious for tomorrow; for tomorrow will care for itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own. Matt 6:31-34.

Anxiety is sin. And I know you won’t like me for this – but stress is sin. We choose what we fix our minds on. And He says to fix it on whatever is pure, holy and true.

This week, I commit myself to:

  1. Meditating on one Scripture a day, and every time I am tempted to worry, I repeat that Scripture to myself.
  2. Pray at all times. It could just be a simple, Jesus have mercy on me, prayer, but being intentional about always being in the Spirit. When I pray, I can’t worry.

Leave a comment